Fartlek Fun

This evening I decided to take advantage of the calmer weather and headed to the seafront for some fartlek fun! 

My goal for this evening’s run was to attempt to run 5K with negative splits and the strategy was pretty simple – basically, I would try to keep a fairly consistent pace, but by increasing the number of short sprints between lamp posts in each kilometre I would aim to achieve a faster average pace for each split.

The first kilometre was pretty slow. My legs were a bit stiff and I was distracted by the police car that was creeping along the seafront. At first I thought, that’s nice that the police are patrolling the seafront to make sure that everyone is safe – after all, it is pretty dark down there and even though there are usually plenty of runners, joggers and dog walkers within sight, sometimes it can be eerily quiet. But then I thought, hang on… it’s a bit unusual to see police cars on the promenade. What if they are looking for a dangerous and violent criminal? 

With these thoughts swimming around in my head, I soon forgot about the stiffness in my legs and decided that it would be fun to try to outrun the police car, which was behind me by this point as I had turned around and started heading west. So, I picked up the pace and completed the first kilometre in just over seven minutes.

Now that I was warmed up nicely and the police car had faded into the distance, along with any associated thoughts of muggers and marauders, I settled into what felt like a comfortable pace for the second kilometre. When I felt ready, I chose a lamp post in the distance and picked up the pace until I reached it – not a full on sprint, but enough to make me push myself quite hard. I repeated this for the rest of the first kilometre, making sure that I left myself enough energy to return to my initial comfortable pace.

The thing I found interesting about this strategy, however, was that my comfortable pace seemed to increase with each kilometre – not so much for the third perhaps, but by the fourth I was running a lot faster and with fewer sprints. In fact, by the final half kilometre, I really didn’t have enough energy for short sprints, so I just tried to focus on a slow steady acceleration to the end of the course.

Pace_2014-01-14

Overall, the strategy was pretty successful, resulting in (mostly) negative splits and an overall time just ten seconds short of a new PB!

Splits_2014-01-14

I’ll probably take a break from speed work for the rest of the week to allow my body to recover properly, but I’m thinking that it might be fun to try this as a strategy to improve my Parkrun PB on Saturday, as well as to build up my overall ability to run faster. It certainly added a bit of variety and a lot of fun to the run!

How do you add variety to your running? What’s your favourite type of training run? Are you a fan of fartleks or do you prefer a more structured approach to speed training? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Fartlek Fun”

  1. Kerrie says :

    Oh wow you are fast!! Looks like your training is working 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Kerrie. There’s still a lot of work to be done, but it certainly seems to be helping. It reminds me of how I felt when I was doing C25K a few months ago – all you have to do is get out the front door, complete the workouts and your body will adapt. Kind of cool, really. 🙂

  2. jamhunt says :

    Great splits, almost got it nailed!
    I am about to get into the grunt of my speed work, hopefully I get it done correctly to have the right effect.
    My new fave is Hills, even though they nearly killed me last Sunday lol

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! I love running uphill but haven’t done any real hill training. One of my favourite parts of Parkrun is overtaking people on the inclines, although I usually overdo it and end up watching in awe as everyone sails past me on the flat! 😉

  3. Gina Preston says :

    That’s a great idea. I might try that. I sometimes do musical intervals. I put my ipod on and then do two songs at a normal pace and then push it for the third song and then two slower again etc. It is fun as, if you put your music on random, you never know what you will get. I always pray for a short song on the fast interval!! Well done on your run

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Gina! I used to always listen to music while running, but not so much now. Perhaps I should give it a try – it sounds like a fun way of doing it. And yes, I’ll be praying for a shorter song too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

