Ten

It seems that my well planned training schedule has gone to pot! I partly blame the weather, but mostly I blame the fact that I was slightly over enthusiastic and totally unrealistic about what my body is capable of. I’ve not even been running for a whole year yet, and I’ve had some injury issues, so the idea that I could somehow run five days a week was probably a bit optimistic to say the least.

However, the good news is that, despite skipping more sessions than I’ve completed, I seem to be on track in terms of my 10K training. According to the training schedule, my distance goal for this week is 5 miles (just over 8K), which I achieved fairly easily on Sunday. In fact, I did better than expected and managed to run 9.2K.

This gave me such a boost that I decided not to skip this evening’s session after work and try to get back to the program that I had designed for myself. The general plan was to take it fairly easy and just practise running the 5 miles or 8K. But of course, it didn’t quite work out like that.

As with Sunday’s run, I wasn’t bothered about my pace. I just wanted to see if I could manage the distance. So I set of nice and slowly, enjoying the breeze, the cool sea air and the fact that everyone on the promenade seemed to be going much faster than I was.

I didn’t care though. I was taking it easy, enjoying myself and for the first time ever, I was glad when I finished the first 3K and knew that I still had another 5K to go. I didn’t want to get half way. I wanted to keep running. So, when I reached 4K, I started thinking that maybe I would try the 9.2 again; and when I reached 5K, the thought crossed my mind that maybe I could go for 9.5 or even the whole 10K.

Of course, by the time I approached the 8K mark, my legs were getting tired, but I wasn’t out of breath. Not even a little bit. I realised then that I wasn’t really pushing myself and that it might be a good idea to finish off the workout with a bit of a kick. So I picked up the pace a little bit to get myself to 9K and then thought, what the heck, I might as well do the full 10K!

In the end, it was a very slow run, possibly my slowest run ever. But I did it. I ran 10K without stopping and it felt awesome!

I’m not really sure how I managed to progress to 10K this far ahead of schedule, but I think the main reason (apart from the fact that I run very slowly) is that I skipped some workouts. Recovery and rest days really do seem to make a difference. So, instead of feeling guilty for skipping my workouts, I’m going to start taking it a bit easier and enjoy the days off.

Of course, this also means that I’m going to have to start prioritising certain types of workout and, now that I know I can run 10K, make sure I get some speed training in mid-week. Strange how it’s always the speed sessions that I seem to skip…

What are your running goals at the moment? Are you aiming for speed or distance? How do you cope when the training gets too much? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “Ten”

  1. Sam says :

    Well done on the 10k!

  2. playfulpups says :

    Its funny- I love speed days! I’m working on distance and speed- but looking for slow progressions. Nothing overnight. I’m determined, but I’m patient- quite odd cuz I’m not always a patient person…lol

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Running definitely takes patience, which isn’t easy for me either. I did kind of enjoy the few speed workouts that I tried, but as I had a deadline for the 10K, it made sense to focus on distance when I had to choose. Hopefully I’ll be able to start picking up the pace next week though.

  3. mtbader says :

    I think listening to your body is super important. If it’s telling you to put on the brakes, take an easy or rest day. If you’re feeling good, go harder. Congrats on getting so far along in your goals!

  4. emilysrunningadventures says :

    Well done on running 10k. You’re right the rest days are actually the most important pats if the training loan I think.

    Unfortunately at the moment I’m working on speed. I’m running the same half marathon that was my first in May and I want to break the 2hour mark.

  5. PNWRunner says :

    Great job. Regardless of your pace, the fact that you got it done is amazing. You will be surprised about how much your legs will remember the longer distances over time. If you aren’t cross training yet, I’d recommend it. I spin alot during the winter so that my endurance levels stay pretty high. It is worth a try or perhaps tabata workouts!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. My legs definitely remember it today, but not in a good way. 😉
      I think you mentioned tabata workouts before. Looks pretty good so will probably have a go next week. 🙂

  6. jamhunt says :

    Awesome non-stop run!
    I must admit, my very first non-stop 10k was the one I recently blogged about, very first in my running career and I was very proud of it considering I was doing as my Hill training run.
    I am currently over halfway through my Half Marathon training. It will be my first and I am planning on just completing rather than competing.
    Having said that, my hopes are to complete it in close to 2.5 hours. I will not be disappointed if I don’t, this just seems to be the time that my current pace during my runs are trending toward.
    I am really enjoying the Hill runs, I thought they would be the worse, but I feel like my flat course terrain ones are my most challenging. Probably why I love trail so much.
    My speed work is going ok, I can’t tell if it is working yet, I guess over the next few weeks as it ramps up I will know all about it.
    Well, Good job on your run, and good luck with your remaining training! 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. From what I’ve read, it takes a bit of time to see the benefits of speed work, but that along with the hills should make a difference in the long run. Best of luck with the training and the HM. 🙂

  7. artisticsharon says :

    Congratulations on 10k!! Our Run for God 10k or Half starts next week I hope my toe is better by then.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

