Happy New Year!

So, here we are. 2014. Another year, another day and another early(-ish) morning run.

For me, New Year’s Day is not about beginnings this year; it’s about continuity. Yes, it is still a time for reflection and for looking forward, but more than that, it’s about being in the moment and appreciating this particular part of the journey.

I woke up later than usual this morning and, as I had the day off work, headed to the seafront for my morning run. According to my training plan, today’s workout was to be a 45 minute tempo run. I was looking forward to this workout as I really want to work on controlling my pace, but unfortunately it didn’t quite go as planned.

The wind had picked up a bit since last night, but a run along the seafront still seemed be doable. Ok, so the waves were pretty high, giving the promenade itself a good soaking at times, but the wind wasn’t hitting me head on so I figured I could handle it.

Unfortunately, after about 1.5 kilometres, I realised that the strong gusts were going to make it pretty difficult to maintain a consistent pace, never mind a tempo run. So, I headed back up to town for some shelter.

I had hoped that the buildings would offer a bit of protection from the weather, and they did to some extent, but I was still taking a good battering from the wind and the rain.

In the end, I gave up after 2.5 kilometres and headed home. But I didn’t mind too much. I’d still managed to get out and, even though the conditions were pretty difficult, it was still kind of fun running along with the waves crashing on the path ahead.

Hopefully tomorrow will bring some calmer weather, but for now I’m enjoying a relaxing New Year’s Day in front of the television, preserving my energy for next time.

Did you run today? What do you do when the weather makes running outside difficult or impossible? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. thunder2toned says :

    We’ve been experiencing some strong winds in Dublin too. Sometimes it feels like I’m barely moving as I battle against them. But I figure if my run is cut short or is slower than usual that’s ok because the tougher workout in the wind is making me stronger.

  2. Kerrie says :

    Sounds like you have lovely weather! I didn’t run today – I decided to go out yesterday, fit one last run into 2013! I did however go for a long walk, in the rain 😦

  3. Sam says :

    I just accept that depending on how bad the wind/rain/hail is I might need to slow down, stop or change my route. If I can get out in the light I will do the park as it is safer otherwise I just think of it as “resistance training” and hope I don’t end up in the Mersey!

  4. mtbader says :

    Don’t you just hate it when Mother Nature ruins your best laid plans? I think the bottom and most important line is that you still got out there and got it done! (like you said) When weather throws a wrench into things, I think you just have to take what the run gives you, adapt as necessary, and maybe take it onto a treadmill or do some other sort of activity if need be.

  5. Sharon says :

    Well done for getting out there gust wind makes it tough

  6. LeAnn Cady says :

    Sometimes, you gotta know when to call it! And, for me in frigid Minnesota, many of the days with below zero temps/windchills send me reeling indoors to the dreadmill! However, a runner can get it done–and when–is the important thing! Great post! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

