A Wee Bit Chilly

It was more than just a wee bit of a tad chilly out there this morning. To be fair, I was up very early. About 6:00 am, which is early for me any day of the week. Not that I went out at 6:00 am. That would just be silly and way too dark, but at 7:30 it was still a degree or two colder than I am used to.

I realised this as soon as I opened the front door. My usual long-sleeved shirt with another t-shirt on top wasn’t going to be enough, so I shut the door and added another layer – leggings under my trousers and a zipper hoody type thing over the t-shirt. It was still cold, but I had to account for the fact that I was probably going to get quite warm once I started running.

For once, there wasn’t much wind down on the seafront, although the storms of the last week or so had left their mark. It was sad to see so many of our lovely beach huts battered, blown away and in some cases completely destroyed by the storms.

The run itself was nice though. It was good to be running on the flat and I enjoyed the absence of my iPod as the waves crashed on the beach. There were quite a few runners out too and everyone seemed quite smiley and happy running up and down the promenade, exchanging nods and greetings of “morning!” between gasps of cold sea air.

I was pleased that I managed to set off at a slower pace than my last two runs and avoided having to take a walking break, but I still haven’t quite mastered those negative splits yet – although I partly blame the fact that it was a bit slippery underfoot.

5K Splits- 2013-12-29

As I reached the end of the run, I was tempted to take advantage of the slippery surface and do an impressive sliding finish, but stumbled and almost toppled sideways instead. I don’t think anyone saw me, which is probably just as well.  Perhaps I’d better just stick to jogging slowly like everyone else.

Happy running!

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “A Wee Bit Chilly”

  1. Kerrie says :

    Hope your end of the country was okay – them storms looked horrible on the News. I think your sliding finish would have been fantastic! 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      It wasn’t too bad here – a bit wet and windy but nothing compared to what others have been going through. I’ll be working on that sliding finish for next time though! 😉

      • Kerrie says :

        haha, you need a ‘GoPro’ (I think that’s what they are called…) camera so we can see a first person perspective of this sliding finish! 🙂

  2. thunder2toned says :

    Times are looking good.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

