Less Is More

After last week’s high mileage (well, high for me), I didn’t run at all for six days. It wasn’t planned, but after this morning’s run, I was glad that I had taken a break.

While my training schedule is pretty ambitious for a novice like me, I decided that I wasn’t going to worry too much if I decided to skip a session. As each session has it’s own purpose, skipping a speed session from one day shouldn’t have any real impact on the next day’s endurance training. But what happens when I skip a whole week of workouts?

Well, today I found out. My last run was last Sunday, a three and a half mile run which ended up being closer to four miles. I’d felt pretty good after that run and was pleased that adding on the extra miles had been easier than expected, but for the next few days I didn’t feel so good.

This may have been down to overdoing the running, but I also had a bit of a dodgy stomach for most of last week, so I’m not sure. Either way, I didn’t feel like running so I took a break.

This morning, the thought of going out and tackling four miles was slightly daunting. I had skipped the workouts that had been designed to get me used to running the three and a half miles, so I wasn’t sure if I could do it. But then again, even doing three miles would be better than doing nothing. So off I went into the Sunday morning drizzle.

It was pretty windy down on the seafront, but the combination of the light drizzle and the spray from the sea felt good as I made my way down towards the Peace Statue. The wind wasn’t as bad as I had thought it would be, other than the fact that I kept having to pull my cap down to stop it from blowing away, so I was able to keep a nice steady pace for the most part.

As I turned and headed to the lagoon, I noticed that the other runners and joggers seemed a lot more smiley than usual. Perhaps it was just me being more aware of other people, but it did seem like there was some kind of unspoken respect going on as one runner after another grinned as they passed – Look at us running in this shitty weather. We must be awesome!

To be fair though, I do like running in the drizzle. There’s something quite refreshing about running in the rain, as long as it’s not pelting down of course. This may or may not have had something to do with what happened next.

As I approached the four mile point, the finish line of my planned route, I realised that I didn’t want to stop. I was having too much fun. So I kept going, all the way down towards the Peace Statue and then back up to my starting point.

I had no idea how far I had run as I had stopped paying attention to my RunKeeper app as I skipped (ok, stumbled) past the puddles, grinning at everyone who passed me.

When I finally decided to stop, I discovered that I had run just over five miles. That’s more than a mile further than I have ever run before. I couldn’t believe it! I even managed to keep my average pace close to my comfort zone of seven minutes per kilometre.

I’m not sure if I would have run faster if I hadn’t taken the week off, but I doubt I would have been able to do five miles. I guess it just goes to show that, sometimes, when it comes to training less really is more.

2013-12-15_Map

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Less Is More”

  1. thunder2toned says :

    ..and sometimes those days when you are low, tired or just feeling a little under the weather result in new PBs. Congrats.

  2. artisticsharon says :

    wow…good for you! Sometimes your body just needs a break and maybe that’s what your stomach was telling you.

  3. PNWRunner says :

    I haven’t ran in a while…since my last half on the 2nd of dec. Sadly my hip flexor has been bugging me ever since. I can’t wait to get back out there! Way to go on your run. I love it when I zone out and realize that I ran farther than intended.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A Decision Point… | Angie's Excellent Adventures - December 23, 2013
  2. One More First for the Year!!! | Chatter Gets Fit - December 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

