Building Speed

Today is Wednesday, which (according to my new training schedule) is speed day! This means that, instead of doing my usual non-stop run along the seafront, I have to do a series of shorter runs (400 metres) with some walking and/or jogging in between.

The trouble with speed training, and indeed any kind of training, is knowing how fast you should go. Most of the training programs that I have looked at tend to give vague instructions about how fast or slow a workout should be. Terms like ‘easy’, ‘hard’, ‘moderate’ on even ‘5K pace’ or ’10K pace’ come up again and again, which, for an inexperienced runner like myself can be difficult to judge.

However, I recently came across a useful website at McMillan Running, which helps to clarify some of this. Basically, you put in your current time for a particular distance, followed by a goal time and distance, and it gives you a general pace or time to focus on for different types of runs.

2013-12-04_SplitsSo, for tonight’s run, rather than running as fast as I could for 400 metres, I tried to pace myself so that I could complete each section without gasping for breath by the end.

This worked quite well as I managed to stay fairly close to my McMillan Running range (for the most part) and was even able to jog for some of the recovery intervals.

I still need to do a lot of work on my pacing in general, but I am gradually starting to get a feel for how fast I am running and how long I can keep going for. I know I am a long way from being able to maintain a Sub 30 5K pace, but it does feel good to be able to run a bit faster for a bit longer.

Here is a pace graph of tonight’s run:

2013-12-04_Pace

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Building Speed”

  1. Leah Hallissey says :

    Glad to hear you’re already making progress! I want to go for a Race for Life 10k next summer so I’m really interested to see how you go! Happy running!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hey Leah. Nice to see you back on the blog again. 🙂
      I’ve been looking out for some 10K races in my area too but haven’t come across next year’s Race for Life yet. Which one are you doing?

      • Leah Hallissey says :

        My Mum and sister do Portsmouth every year so I’ll probably head down there and run with (or a bit behind) them. Is there normally one in Brighton?

      • theblogrunner says :

        That’s great that you’ll get to run with your Mum and sister.
        I’m pretty sure there is one in Brighton (or close by) as I know some people who have done them in the past – might be 5K rather than 10K though. Of course I’d happily do either. 🙂
        (Who’d have thought I’d be saying that this time last year!) 😀

      • Leah Hallissey says :

        I know! Same here!

  2. runsandrambles says :

    The McMillan Running site is great! Was introduced to it about a month ago. Will definitely use it in the future.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

