Parkrun Volunteers

volunteerI’ve been itching to get back to Parkrun for weeks now, but with the injury still not one hundred percent healed, I don’t want to risk making it worse by running on the inclines. However, after reading my local Parkrun’s race report last week, in which they made a plea for volunteers, I decided to do my bit for the cause and earn my right to run.

Parkrun is, of course, completely free of charge, but there is a rule somewhere that says you are supposed to volunteer three times each year in return for your free run. I doubt if this rule is enforced and, from what I’ve seen of the volunteers at my local park, I doubt it would ever need to be. But it got me thinking that maybe it wouldn’t be such a bad idea to get some volunteering done before I return to running in the park.

So, this morning I headed out half an hour earlier than usual on a Parkrun day to join the rest of the volunteers for our pre-race briefing. Unsurprisingly, they were a friendly bunch, from complete beginners like myself to seasoned runners – some were even volunteering and running today!

I was assigned to barcode scanning duty, which was much easier than I thought it would be. The best part though, was chatting with other volunteers and seeing people finish their run with huge smiles on their faces.

I even bumped into an old friend who I haven’t seen in about a year. He doesn’t do the Parkrun very often, but just happened to choose today to get back into it – a perfect excuse to hang around afterwards for a well earned coffee and flapjack!

I won’t be volunteering next weekend as I’m doing a Santa Dash on the seafront, but I will be doing it again soon.

Oh, and did I mention that you get points for doing it?

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Parkrun Volunteers”

  1. playfulpups says :

    Good for you for getting involved! Good luck with your Santa Dash!!

  2. kerrielouisebrown90 says :

    I’ve looked at doing a park run! I’m going to leave it till I’ve completed my C25K plan, but I have read up on our local one. There was nothing about volunteering 3 times a year, but I guess it is nice to give it a go.
    Good luck with your Santa Dash! 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Kerrie. I’m ridiculously excited about the Santa Dash!
      Parkrun was my end of C25K goal, so I’d definitely recommend it. I wish I’d volunteered sooner though as it’s much easier to get chatting to people while you’re standing around than when you’re running. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

