Cold Weather Running Gear

With the season’s temperatures continuing to drop, I decided to invest in some cold weather running gear last weekend. Well, a long sleeved shirt and a pair of legging/tight type things.

To be honest, I really hate shopping for clothes, but I did kind of enjoy visiting the running shop. They didn’t have a huge selection of clothes to choose from, which made it a bit easier to find something suitable, and they did have lots of other running accessories to distract me when it all started to become a bit too much.

Needless to say, as well as the clothes, I ending up buying some additional running related items: a bright yellow foam roller and an ankle support to see if they might help with the injury; and an arm band for my iPod since the legging/tight type things don’t have pockets. I did manage to spend a small fortune, it’s true, but it was certainly worth it, as I found out this evening.

When I got home from work, I was feeling pretty tired and all I really wanted to do was curl up under my duvet to keep warm. But then I remembered that I hadn’t actually road tested my new running gear yet. And with the temperature dropping to around 5C, tonight seemed like the perfect opportunity.

I decided to wear the legging/tights under my normal running trousers as I’m not used to wearing such figure hugging clothing, and I wore the long sleeved shirt under my usual t-shirt. I also used the ankle support to see if it would help with the injury.

As expected, it did feel pretty cold outside as I headed for the seafront, but it wasn’t too bad – no worse than running in a t-shirt on a cold spring morning, except that my hands were a bit colder. My legs felt great though! Perhaps it was the tightness of my new leggings or the fact that I was wearing two layers, but they didn’t feel cold at all.

The run itself went pretty well. Even though I was wearing the ankle support, I didn’t want to push too hard in case I caused more damage. So I kept at a pace of around seven minutes per kilometre. But then something very strange happened.

My RunKeeper app told me that I had suddenly completed 5K when I knew I hadn’t even reached 3K! My pace was all over the place.  According to the app, I was doing about two point four minutes per kilometre at one stage. Fortunately though, I was running my usual route from Hove lawns to the lagoon and back, so I knew how far I had run and, even with my shoddy mathematical skills, I was pretty certain that I wasn’t going that fast.

As it turned out, the app mishap wasn’t such a bad thing as it meant that I had to try to pace myself by feel, which will be useful when I do my 10K in February – apparently they don’t allow headphones in that race.  This had concerned me when I first heard about it as I usually pay a fair bit of attention to the pace updates from the app and try to adjust my running accordingly.

However, this evening, I was surprised to find out that I actually managed to judge the run pretty well –  I ended up running just under 5K at an average pace of 7 mins per kilometre, which is much slower than my goal pace, but pretty much what I’m aiming for in my training runs at this stage.

The best part about the run though, was that I didn’t get overheated like last time; and I didn’t freeze on the way home either. I actually felt pretty good throughout the entire run and would have happily run some more. But, of course, I’m trying not to overdo it, so I stopped as planned and headed for home feeling good about my running and very pleased with my new running clothes.

Of course, I’ll probably need to get some more layers when it starts to get really cold – perhaps a nice lightweight running jacket and some gloves… and maybe a hat… oh and one of those things that runners wear around their necks to keep warm… 😉

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Cold Weather Running Gear”

  1. kerrielouisebrown90 says :

    I’m looking at getting a pair of them running tights/what-ever-they’re-called but I’m not keen on tight cloths! I thought about getting a pair of shorts to go on top of them…Sounds like you had a good run! 😀

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

