Sunday Morning Run

Having signed up for my local 5K Santa Dash, I thought I’d better do some training to make sure that I can still manage to run the distance. My running has been off and on (mostly off) for the last few weeks due to injury and the last thing I want to do is make things worse, but I am aware that my fitness level has dropped quite a bit so I wanted to do something to keep myself on track.

So, this morning, I woke up early and headed for the seafront for a 5K run. I can’t remember the last time I went that far without walking so I was keen to see how I would cope, not just with the distance but with the drop in temperature as well.

I don’t really have any proper running clothes so I pulled on a hoody over my t-shirt to stop myself from freezing. This seemed to work and I felt pretty good for the first half of the run. The sleeves are long and loose so they were good for keeping my hands warm too.

At about 3K, however, I was starting to feel a bit too warm. I don’t mind getting hot and sweaty when I’m running. It’s just part of it, but this didn’t feel right. I didn’t want to stop, even for just a few seconds, so I somehow managed to wriggle the hoody off and over my head while still running. This wasn’t easy and there was one scary second in which I couldn’t see where I was going, but thankfully I managed to get out of it without bumping into anything.

It felt much better running in a just t-shirt again, but it was annoying having to carry my excess baggage for the rest of the run.

In the end though, I didn’t quite manage the full 5K. I’m not sure why, but even though I’d cooled down a bit, I just didn’t feel right. So I quit at about 4.7K and headed home, which was just as well as my stomach started protesting about something.

It may have been something I’d eaten or perhaps I was dehydrated, but at one point I thought I wouldn’t make it home. Luckily I don’t live too far from the seafront, so I managed to make it back to my flat and the bathroom before anything nasty happened, but it was a close call!

Anyway, I feel fine now, so it’s all good. I’m going to put it down to overheating and plan to buy myself a proper long sleeved running top for future cold weather running. I may even splash out on one or two other running related items if my bank balance can handle it.

How do you cope with cold weather running? What kit would you recommend? Please share your thoughts in the comments?

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Sunday Morning Run”

  1. thunder2toned says :

    I’m in Dublin and finding that it’s not quite cold enough during the day to run with extra layers. It feels cold when I go out but a couple of minutes into my run and I’m stripped down to a t-shirt. I have a very lightweight run jacket which I sometimes start off in and then wrap around my waist a few minutes in.
    Well done on the 4.7k sounds like it was a challenging morning

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. It wasn’t so bad. I guess it’s always a bit cooler just as the sun comes up so it probably wasn’t the best time to go out. Still, it gave me an excuse to go and buy some proper running clothes at long last. πŸ˜‰

  2. artisticsharon says :

    I always struggle with how much to put on when I run in cold weather because I don’t want to be too uncomfortable at the start (or I might not go!) but I know I’m going to heat up. I’ve invested in a long sleeve wicking shirt and I wear another t-shirt over that. I also have a pair of thin cotton gloves. I try to make sure I wear pants with pockets so I have a place to put the gloves when I get hot. The other thing I do is run a loop so if I have to shed my layers I can pick them up on the last (walking) loop.

    Good for you going 4.7k when you haven’t run in a while! πŸ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. Long sleeved t-shirts seem to be the way to go. I just bought a long sleeved wicking shirt and, like you, will probably wear another t-shirt over the top.
      I like the idea of running loops then collecting my discarded layers on the way back, but I fear that someone might pinch them, or I’ll forget to pick them up.
      πŸ˜€

  3. kerrielouisebrown90 says :

    4.7k is fantastic πŸ™‚
    I just have a plan Nike zip jacket. Its material, so when it rains, I get soaked…

  4. Ashley @ Snow Cream and Syrup says :

    Haha I have a post tomorrow about the SAME thing – it’s a tricky balance. I have found that thinner layers with ZIPPERS are the trick. I have a great fleece vest that I can throw on over a long sleeve T and keep warm with and then unzip when needed. Also has handy pockets for gloves, hat, etc.

  5. Andrew Williams says :

    I always like to start out feeling a little too cold. The shivers soon stop after I start running.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

