Santa Dash

Santa DashAfter last night’s 6K run/walk, I was surprised to find that I didn’t have too many aches and pains this morning. Ok, so the achilles is still niggling, but no more than it has been over the last few weeks – a bit of stiffness in the morning and the odd twinge on the stairs, but nothing more. And, on the whole, I’m feeling much more energised than I have done since I stopped running regularly.

The key, it seems, is to run slowly and avoid uneven surfaces and hills. Unfortunately, this means no more parkruns until it feels better. However, I am quite fortunate in that I have a nice long flat seafront promenade at my disposal. As long as it’s not too windy, the seafront is a great place to run at any time of the day or evening, with plenty of other crazy people out running, jogging and taking part in open air fitness classes.

In fact, it’s not unusual to see a couple of dozen people suddenly start running towards you, then gather in a circle, drop to the ground and start pulling all sorts of strange stretches and poses in the name of fitness and exercise. But that’s what I love about Brighton and Hove – anything goes, pretty much.

As for me though, I prefer to be slightly less visible in real life and try to blend in to my surroundings. For this reason, I’m kind of surprised at myself for what I have just done. About an hour ago, I was having a bit of a nose on Facebook to see what everyone was up to, when I noticed that someone had posted a link to a Santa Dash. Being glutton for anything even vaguely running related, I clicked on the link and found myself signing up for this year’s Brighton Santa Dash.

The idea is pretty simple. You pay £15, dress up in a Santa suit and turn up at 10:30 am on 7th December to join lots of other Santas to run a 5K race along Hove seafront. Now, I’m not really into drawing too much attention to myself, especially when I’m attempting to do something vaguely resembling running, but as I’ll be dressed exactly the same as everyone else, I guess it won’t matter too much.

The main thing is that I’ll get to run with a crowd again, which I’ve really been missing for the last few weeks, and will hopefully help to raise some money for charity at the same time.

Oh, and you get a medal too, which is kind of cool.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Santa Dash”

  1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals says :

    Sounds like a fun little event!

  2. heatherlynnc says :

    Santa Dash sounds like fun! Since everyone else will be dressed up crazy, you’ll only stick out if you’re normal 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

