Taking It Easy

Being injured is becoming a real drag. I haven’t run properly in weeks and it’s doing my head in. I don’t mind about delaying my goal to run faster and improve my 5K time, or even about missing out on my weekend Parkrun, but I do miss running.

Not like last week’s crazy run/jog/walk get blown around by gale force winds scenario; I just mean getting out of the flat for half an hour to run and run until it feels like the run is done. So, this morning I decided to go for it. Nothing major. Just a nice short easy jog around Hove Recreation Ground.

After weathering last week’s storms and winds, I knew that I had to be sensible. The achilles felt worse last week than it had the week before, so I was careful to make sure that I didn’t make it worse again this week. I didn’t set myself any targets, because I targets make me push myself harder and today’s run wasn’t going to be about that. It was going to be about running until I felt satisfied that I’d done enough. Nothing more.

I still used my RunKeeper app to keep track of how I was doing and wasn’t surprised that my pace was much slower than before. This wasn’t due to the achilles though. Sure, I could feel it a little bit as I set off, but it felt ok after the first half kilometer. No, this wasn’t about the injury. It was about a decline in my general fitness.

Usually, I can run 5K without any problems. Yes, I have to push myself sometimes, but I always feel like I can go the distance. Today, however, after only one and a half kilometers I was tired. I wanted to stop and walk. But despite being sensible today, I kept going.

The truth is, deep down I really didn’t want to stop running, so I slowed down a bit and then let my momentum carry me down the slope for a final half kilometer. Then, when the path levelled out again, I stopped.

I was glad that I’d kept going. It felt good to be out running again, pushing myself just enough and not too much.

Of course, I’m still not back to where I was. That may take some time, but I’m hoping that as long as I take things easy, I might be able to get away with running again a couple of times a week. Just to keep the fitness up.

2013-11-11

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Taking It Easy”

  1. Leah Hallissey says :

    Good on you for getting out! I’m pretty much recovered now but the cold makes me not want to go!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hey, glad you’re feeling better! I don’t blame you for not going out though. It was VERY cold this morning. The biggest problem was that, because I was wearing a hoody, I was way too hot once I started running. I suppose that’s one way to save on winter fuel bills, but I really must invest in some proper running clothes. 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

