Run Like The Wind

I know I’m probably not supposed to be running again yet, but today I just had to get out.

It was one of those days when nothing seemed to be going right. It was nothing major. Just lots of little things that didn’t work out the way that they should have. I won’t go into details because it’s really not that important, but let’s just say that lots of little annoyances grew into irritation and left me feeling twitchy and unfocussed. So I did what I’m not supposed to do. I put on my trainers and headed for the seafront.

Even though it has only been a couple of weeks since I last ran, the weather really has taken a turn for the worse. Usually, I wear a t-shirt when I’m running, even if it is a bit cold, but today I decided to wrap up a bit more and wore a hoody to keep myself warm. I didn’t really like the feel of it. It was kind of tight and restrictive compared with my light t-shirts, but when I reached the seafront I realised it wasn’t such a bad decision after all.

Just as I was crossing the road to the promenade, the wind picked up and almost blew me clean off my feet. No exaggeration! I actually held on to the lamp post to stop myself toppling over. Still, for some reason, that didn’t put me off going on the promenade. I was still feeling pretty agitated, so I figured that a bit of wind resistance might help to get it all out of my system.

I started my run by heading east towards Brighton, with a fairly strong tail wind helping to push me along. It felt pretty good. I enjoyed the feeling of the wind and the rain and the spray from the sea. I was running again and it felt ok. No pain at all from my Achilles.

After a nice easy quarter of a mile everything was still good, so I turned around to head west towards the lagoon for the first half of my usual 5K route. I wasn’t going to go crazy or try to get a new PB or anything like that. I just wanted to see if I could go the distance.

Unfortunately, however, the wind that had been helping me along from behind, suddenly seemed a lot more powerful face on, so much so that I was almost running horizontally to get through it. Not such a great idea after all. So, I decided to forget about the  seafront for today and headed back through the slightly more sheltered streets.

This, as it turned out, worked out perfectly. As soon as I turned away from the wind again, it was as if all of my frustrations had gone with it. I felt so relaxed and at ease that I even turned off my RunKeeper app, deleted today’s workout and just jog-walked my way home. I didn’t worry about pace or time or distance or any of that, but simply enjoyed being outside in the fresh air, accepting and adapting to what was going on around me.

If I’m honest, from a physical point of view, it was probably the worst thing that I could have done; but from a mental, emotional and even spiritual point of view, it was the best decision I made all day. Yes, I have got that slight twinge around my ankle and yes my Achilles feels a little bit  tight again; but my mind is calm and all of the agitation, frustration and general twitchiness has gone.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Run Like The Wind”

  1. PaulSmuts says :

    Hi! I’ve enjoyed reading your posts so I’ve nominated you for an award on my blog: http://irundistance.com/2013/11/03/the-liebster-award/ 🙂

  2. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I know exactly what you mean. There have been times when I was reaching a frustration level, and I didn’t go running because I thought it would help but just because I had earlier decided to run that day. After I had struggled up the hill to HCCC (a fairly major accomplishment) and was headed back down the more gently sloped back way, I would realize, that, yeah, this is just what I needed. You line about accepting and adapting is rather profound. The spiritual benefits of running are not to be denied.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

