Fresh Air and Exercise

It has been almost two whole weeks since I last ran, but it feels like a lifetime!

I know I have to be careful as I don’t want to aggravate my Achilles, but I’ve really missed exercising – not just running, but walking to and from work each day. I’ve been doing my daily foot commute for over a year now, and I love it. But when the Achilles got bad, I decided to start using the train to avoid putting too much strain on the injury.

On Monday, however, there were no trains. We’d had a bit of a windy weekend with gale force winds which, although gone by Monday morning, had knocked down trees on the railway lines and put the trains out of action for the morning rush hour.

Of course, I could have caught the bus, but I didn’t want to run the risk of being late for work. So, I headed out the door at 8:30 am and walked the 2.5K to work, keeping an eye out for falling trees and flying roof tiles. Luckily the wind wasn’t too strong and I arrived at work safely, on time and without any discomfort or pain. In fact, I felt amazing, happy and buzzing with energy.

As the week has gone on, I’ve walked to and from work every day and the Achilles is feeling better than it has done in a long time – even better than before I stopped running.

I know that I still need to be careful and mustn’t rush back into running as Achilles injuries start before you can feel anything, and they feel better before they are completely healed, but it’s a good sign.

I still won’t run for the rest of the week, but if I can handle the walking then maybe, just maybe, I’ll be able to ease back into the training again next week.

For now though, it just feels good to be getting some fresh air and exercise again.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

