Base Training

Now that I’m getting a bit more used to running a 5K distance, I figured that this would be a good time to start learning a bit more about training so that I can come up with a schedule that will fit into my daily life and help me progress towards my next goal – a sub 30 5K.

Of course, there are plenty of great training programs out there already that I could use, but while the beginner programs seem too easy now (crazy, I know), a lot of the intermediate ones seem to be too advanced for me. So, I started doing some research and found this brilliant article on Base Training.

According to the article, as well as doing long slow runs to help increase areobic capacity and endurance, base training also uses fartleks to work on speed, and steady state runs to help improve your pace as your fitness develops. The idea is that these runs should use a moderate effort to improve your fitness level before moving on to the next stage of improving your speed.

So, having completed a week of fairly easy runs, I decided to include some of these ideas in my own training schedule for the next few weeks.

Training Schedule

Week Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Week 1 5K
Park
(Easy)

REST
5K
Seafront
(Easy)

REST

REST
5K
Parkrun
(Timed)
3K
Park
(Steady)
Week 2
REST
5K
Seafront
(Easy)

REST
30 min
Seafront
(Fartlek)

REST
5K
Parkrun
(Timed)
3K
Park
(Steady)
Week 3
REST
5K
Seafront
(Easy)

REST
30 min
Seafront
(Fartlek)

REST
5K
Parkrun
(Timed)
3K
Park
(Steady)
Week 4
REST
5K
Seafront
(Easy)

REST
20 min
Seafront
(Fartlek)

REST
5K
Parkrun
(Timed)

REST

My plan is to continue to do an easy 5K on Tuesdays, followed by a 20-30 minute fartlek session on Thursdays. As these sessions will be done in the evenings, I’ll be running on the seafront which is pretty much as flat as you can get without using a running track. So, to make sure I get some hill practice in, I’ll continue with my shorter runs in the park on Sunday mornings.

Hopefully, with a bit of variety in my training schedule, my body will start to adapt more to the demands of running. And, while I will still be trying to improve my 5K time at the Saturday morning parkruns, I’m not going to push it if it doesn’t feel right on the day.

At this stage, it’s about getting used running regularly to build up my general fitness so that I can push myself more in the following weeks when I start training properly for that sub 30 5K.

You can read the article, ‘The Basics of Base Training’, at Running.Competitor.com

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Base Training”

  1. runningfancy says :

    Good luck! Keep us posted of the progress. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. How to Run Faster – For Beginners | #7Days7irons - November 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

