A New PB!

I woke up early this morning. It was cold, damp and miserable outside, but that didn’t stop me from tying on my trainers and heading down to the park.

Today was going to be my second Parkrun. I ran my first one last Saturday and have started working on a new training program to try to bring my 5K time to under 30 minutes, so I was keen to see what (if any) progress I had made over the last seven days. I was hoping for something around 32:30, but would have been happy with anything under 33:00.

I decided not to start right at the back this week so that I could find my pace a bit sooner. That definitely helped. The walking and shuffling soon turned into a nice steady jog as the crowd thinned out and I found my rhythm.

Last week’s slower training runs seemed to have helped as I found I was able to keep my pace fairly constant throughout the whole 5K. The main exception to this was the steeper parts of the inclines, where I slowed down to make sure that I didn’t tire myself out too much before the final kilometre.

As I headed down the final slope, I felt pretty confident that I was going to beat my time from last week so I picked up my pace for the final stretch.

Towards the finish line, I was overtaken by two other parkrunners who were sprinting to the finish, but I resisted the temptation to race them and just focussed my own running. I didn’t want to overdo it as I knew I wanted to get to the park tomorrow for some hill training.

So, in the end, my time came out as 32:25. That’s 40 seconds faster than last week and a new PB!

Next week, I’d like to get below 32:00, but we’ll see how the training goes. For now, I’m happy with 32:25.

PB Badge

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “A New PB!”

  1. Leah Hallissey says :

    Well done! The magic 30 minute barrier is getting closer and closer!

  2. runningfancy says :

    Congrats! Shows what is possible with dedication and persistence! 🙂

  3. shazruns says :

    Gotta love a PB, well done

  4. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout says :

    Congrats! You seem to be progressing really rather well :)!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

