Easy 5K

This is something that I never thought I would ever say, but here goes… tonight’s 5K run was easy.

I know, it sounds crazy, but it’s true. I ran a whole 5K along Hove seafront and, by the end of it, could easily have run some more. But of course I didn’t.

The reason for this is that I have decided to do some base training to get used to running the 5K distance before I try to improve my speed. This means running at a slow comfortable pace a few times a week, rather than pushing myself to run faster or longer each time.

There’s a lot of science behind this type of training, most which I don’t really understand yet, but part of it is to do with increasing your aerobic capacity.

Aerobic capacity is the maximum amount of oxygen that your body can utilize during any form of exercise. As a newer runner, you may not be able to run for a very long period of time before your heart rate increases and you become winded. As you progress or if you are an experienced runner this time is extended by your increased aerobic capacity.

Easy running enables your lungs and cardiovascular system to more efficiently deliver oxygen and for your heart to deliver more blood which by consequence means more oxygen can be carried.

If you are looking to run longer distances at a given pace, easy running specifically trains the aerobic systems that make this possible.

(Why Easy Runs Are Critical To Your Success)

Basically, what this means is that you will eventually be able to run for longer without getting out of breath.

So, for tonight’s run, I made a point of trying to run at a reduced pace. Recently, my pace has been around 6:40 per km when I try to push myself, so I tried to keep it around 7:00. This wasn’t easy as I like trying to improve on my time for each run, so I had to resist the temptation of speeding up and trying to keep up with or overtake other runners. But somehow I managed it and I actually enjoyed it.

Completing a run without having to wrench out every last drop of energy for the last km, finishing the run without coughing and wheezing and gasping for breath, and walking home with a spring in my step rather than stumbling and dragging myself through the streets to my flat all felt kind of good.

I still feel that I’ve had a good workout, but I am also pleased that I won’t feel as sore tomorrow as I usually do. Or at least I’m hoping that I won’t.

What will be interesting though, is how I’ll feel on Saturday when I do my next Parkrun. Hopefully I’ll be feeling fit and ready to run and, who knows, maybe that in itself will help me improve my time from last week.

How often do you do ‘easy’ runs? What effect do they have on your overall performance? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Easy 5K”

  1. jaymeball13 says :

    I just did an ‘easy’ 14 miles today. I tested the pace several times with my ability to breathe. I only started running again almost 6 weeks ago and don’t want to break my body… I am amazed at how well it is doing too! That encourages me to keep going like I am.

  2. Ceirah says :

    I can’t wait till 5k is easy. Am on W6 of C25K and feel like I’m getting worse even though stats say otherwise. Thanks for the motivation!

  3. toughmudderof4 says :

    I like an easy 5km run. It makes me feel relaxed and fit. I don’t feel any pressure to get a certain time I feel good knowing I’m giving my legs a break but still hitting the pavement and feeling good about it. I have an easy run about once a fortnight. Good on you for conquering your 5km! Looking forward to hearing how you go at parkrun. I’m keen to do a parkrun too!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. I did the Parkrun last weekend so can’t wait to go again on Saturday. I’ll definitely be working easy runs into my training schedule from now on. Apart from the physical benefits, it really is fun and, as you say, relaxing in a way. 🙂

  4. GiGi Eats Celebrities says :

    OMG BEST FEELING EVER!!!!! 🙂 Soon enough marathons will be a breeze for you- ha ha!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

