So Now What?

Now that I have completed C25K, I’m kind of missing the structure of the program. Tough as it was at times, knowing that every training session was designed to push me further towards my goal of running a whole 5K without stopping was a great motivator and gave me an amazing feeling of achievement at the end of every run. But now that it’s over, I’m not really sure what to do.

I know that I want to bring my 5K time down to under 30 minutes, but without a tried and tested program to follow, the prospect is slightly daunting. While there’s plenty of information on the internet, it’s hard to know what advice to follow and, to be honest, I think I’ve reached the point of information overload.

So, rather than worry too much about following a set program, I have decided to just have some fun and experiment with some different types of workout.

As with any experiment, I’m fully aware that some things will not work for me, but that’s ok. The important thing is to listen to what my body is telling me and enjoy the process.

So, last night I decided to do some speed training. I’d read a bit about fartlek training, which is a bit like interval training except that it’s not as structured. The idea is to run at a fairly gentle or steady pace, speed up for short distances such as the distance between two lampposts and then slow down to a gentle or steady pace again to recover. Doing a few repeats of this is in a supposed to be good for building up your race speed, so I thought I’d give it a go.

The session started well. I set of at a nice steady pace and was feeling pretty strong and confident. After about five minutes of jogging, I set my sights on a couple of lampposts and decided to sprint between them. This was a big mistake!

Instead of just increasing my pace to something a little bit faster, I ran flat out as hard as I could. According to my RunKeeper app, I maxed out at a pace of 4.28 minutes per km! A great pace if you can sustain it for more than a few seconds, which I clearly can’t!

The effect was brutal. I was puffing and panting and wheezing, but I still kept jogging. Very slowly, of course, but I didn’t walk. And I didn’t speed up again.

I decided to stop the session at 1.33 km and head for home, but after a few minutes I felt like I wanted to run a bit more. So I ran another 0.82 km with a couple more fartleks. These were much more controlled though, as I only increased my pace enough to get below 6 minutes per km.

On the whole, I enjoyed the session and will definitely incorporate farleks into my 5K training schedule. I just need to remember to maintain a degree of control and, no matter how tempting it might be to run as fast as I can, I still need to pace myself.

Have you tried fartleks as part of your training schedule? How did you find it? Has it helped to improve your overall pace for longer runs? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “So Now What?”

  1. the5krunner says :

    I like the odd fartlek but don’t do them too much. One of the great things is that it ‘mixes up the training’. Too often we get stuck doing the same old thing. Variety is good I reckon. You could also try STRIDES at the start of the run (after a good warm up)

    • theblogrunner says :

      I’m really starting to enjoy the freedom from C25K now – trying out different workouts is a lot of fun so I’ll definitely give strides a go at some point. 🙂

  2. Valarie says :

    While I am currently on a running hiatus – trying to recover from a wicked bout with bronchitis, I had just finished C25k over the summer, and had run 3 5k races, which I enjoyed. I was at the same point you were – trying to make plans for “what now” – and I had planned to try to add one more day of running a week – since C25k is 3 days/wk I was going to aim for 4. I’d do 3 regular and one “long” run – long being like 3.5-4 miles. LOL. Anyway – I have run some fartleks on my non-c25k runs – usually I go telephone pole to telephone pole, or maybe a few poles to poles, but I try to keep my speed increase to a minimum b’c I just get too tired too quickly still.

    My plan is much like yours – gonna try a few different things, see what works, what feels right, and what doesn’t. Good luck and keep posting – it’s great to see someone else going through the same process at the same time. [Now if only I could kick this bronchitis and get back to running!]

    • theblogrunner says :

      It’s horrible not being able to run when you want to. I was out of action for about a few weeks with a chest infection – even though it pretty much cleared up after week and a half, I still didn’t feel well enough to run for a while. Frustrating as it is, all you can do is wait. But better take it easy and get well than make things worse, right?
      Hope you’re on the mend soon.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Mini Fartlek ~TJ99 | fatness to fitness, our journey - October 10, 2013

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

