Running After Rest Days

So, it turns out that Week 8 Day 3 of C25K is a whole 3 miles, not 2.75 as I expected. Still, after three rest days due to crazy leg pains and massive fatigue, I was happy to give it a go.

I headed down to the seafront pretty much straight after work – well, after going home for a glass of chocolate milk and an orange. I wasn’t feeling very hungry and was still buzzing from a particularly crazy day at work, so I figured I would have enough energy to get through it.

My plan was to take things fairly easy and not worry too much about my pace. Adding a quarter mile to my workout has been tough for the last couple of weeks, so I wanted to make sure I wasn’t too exhausted to complete the third mile.

Realising that state of mind has a lot to do with these things, I decided to add the extra distance to the start of my regular route. That way I would still be finishing in the usual place as opposed to having to run further at the end. It sounds silly, I know, but it kind of worked.

The main problem I had, however, was that I started too fast. I was running at a pace of nine point something for the first quarter mile, which is way more than I usually do, and I had trouble keeping it down. Of course, after half a mile I began to slow down and get back to my usual pace. But it didn’t seem good enough somehow.

The voice in my RunKeeper app was telling me that I had an average pace of ten point something minutes per mile and, even though I knew I would be suffering by the end of it, I wanted to keep below eleven. So I kept going.

It was tough and, as usual, by the final quarter mile I was really feeling it. So I decided to slow right down until I reached a point where I knew I could pick up the pace and maintain it until the end. And that’s what I did. It wasn’t quite a sprint, but it was a strong finish and it felt amazing.

I looked at my app and it said that I had done 3 miles in 32.22, or something like that. I don’t remember exactly because at that point my app decided to quit on me and made my phone totally freeze up.

I’m hoping that it will sort itself out when the battery drains and my phone turns itself off. But for now, I think my time was around 32.22, which works out at a pace of 10.47 minutes per mile – my best pace yet!

I guess having those extra rest days did me some good, so I plan to do one more run this week, probably Wednesday, and then rest until Saturday’s parkrun.

It has been a long time coming, but it feels good to have that particular finish line in sight.

How many rest days do you take each week? Do you find you improve after a rest or do you run better on consecutive days? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Running After Rest Days”

  1. playfulpups says :

    I’m curious about the rest days too- I actually feel like 3x a week (as C25K says)isn’t enough, so I started doing 4-5x a week and it has helped me. I have found that when I do try to go three days in a row, my legs get really worn out, so I usually go 2 on, 1 off (if that makes sense lol)! Congrats on completing the three miles under 11min pace!! That’s great!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you! I’m not sure that I’m ready to do 4 x 3 mile runs each week, but I like the idea of doing 2 days on and 1 day off – maybe once I’ve finished C25K I’ll mix things up a bit with some shorter faster runs.

  2. Valarie says :

    Well, at the moment I am sidelined with a cold and bronchitis, but before that, after I finished C25k, I ran 3-4 days a week, 2-3 miles each time, with a “rest” day in between. Sometimes I would do a workout with the weight machines at the gym, but that wasnt’ weekly. I am looking forward to being well enough to run soon, so I can figure out what kind of race/rest pattern works for me.

    • theblogrunner says :

      I’ve been looking into different ways of training after C25K, but I’m not sure what I’m going to do. I like the idea of running more often, but perhaps some shorter runs might mean fewer rest days are needed. – right now, I’m still resting as my legs are feeling pretty sore. Hope the rest does you some good and that you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

