A Run In The Park

With less than two weeks to go until my first Park Run, I decided to go and check out the local park for this morning’s run.

It was the perfect morning for a run. The sun was shining and the air was cool and crisp, so I headed across the road and over the railway bridge to the park.

Having never been to Hove Park before, even though it is less than a mile from my front door (shame on me!), I got a little bit confused with my directions and found myself in Hove Recreation Ground instead. Not that I minded. It was very quiet compared with the seafront, with only a couple of other people around.

The path around the recreation ground was much better than I had expected, so I headed off a good pace up the first incline. Yes, I was running up a hill! Not a very steep hill. More of a slope if I’m honest, but as I have been running on the flat since I started, it did take me by surprise a little bit.ย Of course, the good thing about running uphill is that you get to run back down again, which gave me a chance to get my breath back.

After a couple of laps of the recreation ground, I started to get a bit bored so headed back out to the street to find the park. Another downhill section really lifted my spirits until I saw the park itself.

Hove Park

It was huge! And it had hills!! Ok, slopes, but I’m really not used to this.ย Still, I knew that I would have to get used to running uphill if I was going to do a Park Run in two weeks, so I steadied my pace and kept going.

I won’t lie. It wasn’t easy. But somehow I managed to keep going and before I knew it I had reached my goal of 2.5 miles.

The RunKeeper app that I’m using recorded 2.53 miles in 28:12, so when I got home I checked my time and was delighted to discover that I had done 2.5 miles in 27:57. That’s my fastest pace so far!

W7D3-2013-09-15

The improvement in pace may have had something to do with the downhill sections, but I reckon that the uphill climbs balance that out. Also, I was pleased that I managed to keep a fairly even pace on the final incline.

Next week, I plan to have a go at the actual Park Run route for at least one of my training sessions. But for now, I’m going to celebrate with an extra glass of chocolate milk! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “A Run In The Park”

  1. Sam says :

    Congratulations! I too was surprised how much hills affect you running and I know those hills in Hove Rec and Hove Park all too well! Keep up the good work ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Valarie says :

    Nice run! I went to our local park to go for a run one day, and since it was my first time there, I took a wrong turn and ended up running closer to 4 miles instead of the 3.1 I was aiming for. I won’t lie, it sucked in that last mile. LOL. I did a lot of brisk walking b’c I was like, why am I not back yet?! Hah!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! That’s one of my biggest worries about doing the Park Run. How will I know what way to go? On seconds thoughts, there will be plenty of people to follow as I’m bound to be near the back. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

