Picking Up the Pace

I had planned to finish Week 6 of C25K earlier in the week, but I was still feeling a bit stiff and sore from last week’s impromptu 5K run so I decided to rest for a couple of days. And I’m glad that I did.

I had been looking forward to completing Week 6 for quite a while so, after a hard day at the office, I loaded up on pasta, got myself hydrated and headed out to Hove seafront for a non-stop 2.25 mile run… in the mist.

Things have been pretty nice here weather wise for the last week – warm and sunny, but not too hot, so I was a bit surprised to see the first signs of a sea mist coming in when I left work. Not that I minded. The air was nice and cool and, even though I couldn’t see more than half a mile in front of me by the time I hit the promenade, it was nice to run in the cool damp air.

My pace was pretty slow as usual, but I kept it steady, intending to save my energy for the final quarter mile. Unfortunately, I wasn’t really concentrating on the prompts from my RunKeeper app, so when I heard that I had done 1.75 miles, I picked up the pace, thinking that I only had another quarter of a mile to go.

When I realised my mistake, I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t have enough energy left to finish, so I slowed down again and focused on trying to relax my breathing. Luckily this seemed to work and I was able to gradually pick up the pace again for the first part the final quarter mile.

Of course, my increased pace didn’t see me through to the end as I was pretty exhausted by then, but I did achieve my best overall pace so far – 2.25 miles in 25:18 minutes works out at an average pace of 11.14 minutes per mile.

I know it’s more than three minutes over the recommended time for the distance according to C25K, but I’m more than happy with that. While the stats are a great motivator and give me something to push for, that feeling of being able to run and keep going is just amazing!

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Picking Up the Pace”

  1. northwoodsmamma says :

    That’s an awesome pace and run! I’m super impressed! You’d leave me in the dust. Way to go!!!

  2. theblogrunner says :

    LOL! I definitely read somewhere that pasta is good for running… followed by a large glass of post-run chocolate milk! 😀

  3. Val says :

    Great run! I finished the c25k program a few weeks ago, and am currently running between a 13 and 14 min/mile. So when you feel slow, just think of me. LOL. I’m okay with it, because just like with c25k – I am out there, and I’m doing it, and more time and more miles will help me speed up some day. I am really trying to be in it for the long haul this time. So a 13 min/mile right now – I’ll take it. Because it used to be a 20 min/mile. 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Val. It’s all about personal progress for me too. I look at people who can do sub 30 5Ks and think how unattainable that seems; but then I remember how I struggled to run for 60 seconds a few months ago! We may be slow compared to some, but we’re doing more than most people do. 😉
      Congratulations on finishing the program! 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

