Back to Week 6 Day 1

Ok, so perhaps last week’s plan to pick up from where I left off wasn’t such a great idea. While I enjoyed last Monday’s run and didn’t really mind that I had to break down the final ten minute running segment with some walks, I didn’t run again for the rest of the week.

The reason for this poor attempt at a comeback? I lost my confidence. Plain and simple.

Last Monday’s run wasn’t easy. It was slow. Much slower that I have been used to, probably because I had been out of action for a few weeks, and I didn’t want to have another run where I walked at the wrong times. I also had to work late last week and was feeling pretty exhausted.

I know my fitness level has dropped through not running and the virus that I had hasn’t helped. But I don’t want to make excuses. I want to run and I want to run knowing that I can achieve what I’m supposed to achieve each time.

To do this, I need to get back into a routine and, much as I hate to admit it, go back to a run that I know I can complete. So, today I went back to Week 6, Day 1.

The run started off well. I got into a nice easy pace and focussed on my breathing from the start, which made this first five minute running segment pretty easy. Having three minutes to get my breath back before the eight minute run really helped and gave me just enough energy to get through it. But the final five minutes was tough.

I almost stopped a couple of times, but I knew I could do it. I’d done it before so it was just a matter of carrying on. Slowly. One foot in front of the other until I’d finished. And I did finish. Slowly, yes. But I did finish.

So, lessons learned? Stick to the program. Stick to the schedule. And if I miss a week or two, pick it up again by repeating a run that I know I can do.

I have another busy week at work ahead of me, but no matter what happens, I need to make sure I get a run in midweek. It will probably be a repeat of today’s run, just to get myself back to where I was before, but it will be worth it.

Have you ever had to repeat a run or a whole week? How do you feel about doing the same run or week all over again? Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Back to Week 6 Day 1”

  1. playfulpups says :

    I am about to repeat Week 4 Day 2. This will be my first repeating a run. I run every other day, no matter what. Yesterday, I couldn’t complete the last 5minute run- ended up walking about 1 minute of it. Sooooo, I decided I am going to do it over tomorrow. I think it’s a good idea to repeat the runs if you feel you need to. It can only help our fitness level. Good for you for doing it~ I am terrified of Week 6! lol

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Week 6 isn’t so bad. I still reckon Week 1 Day 1 was the hardest. But you’re totally right about repeating runs – as long as we’re running, we’re getting fitter, right?

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Don’t feel bad about repeating a week – I’ve done it twice now (week 4 & 5)because when I got to Day 3 I couldn’t finish the workout as designed. I wanted to be fair to myself and not push forward to the next week if I couldn’t successfully finish the current week. That would only be setting myself up for failure and that would eventually lead to throwing in the towel. Remember each person is different and we have listen to our bodies – besides repeating a week means you’re still running and that’s what’s really important.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I sometimes forget that the main reason I’m doing this is that I just want to be able run – which is what we’re doing no matter what week or day of C25K we’re on. I need to remember that when I start getting impatient about completing the program. 😉

  3. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    Dude, I begin again ALL the TIME! I don’t follow your program, so I can’t say I repeat a specific week, but this past year I have missed many weeks of running and had to go back to a shorter run. In fact, I’m gearing up to start running again soon. I’m not sure how short a run I will start out with. As another commenter said, I will listen to my body. But you’re doing great at overcoming obstacles and sticking with it.

  4. theblogrunner says :

    Ha ha! Thanks for the encouragement. It’s reassuring to know I’m not alone in restarting and repeating. You’re right about listening to your body though. It’s great the way it adapts to the training, but we also need to pay attention when it’s not doing so well. Best of luck with the restart! 🙂

  5. ditchingmycomfortzone says :

    Thanks for being honest about falling off the track so to speak. I know in the past I have felt discouraged when attempting something new. It’s always nice to know that there are others who sometimes struggle but push on and try again when you sometimes feel like throwing in the towel. I’m just beginning week 2 and am looking forward to it!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Life does get in the way sometimes but it’s easy enough to pick up the training again. For me, Week 1 Day 1 was the hardest after more than 20 years of not running, so it’s all progress, even with the repeats. Hope you enjoy Week 2.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

