Sod The Sniffles

I’ve been feeling lousy since yesterday’s run. Not because of the run itself, but because I started getting a cold and my sinuses were killing me. To be fair, it has been coming on for a few days now but came to a head yesterday afternoon with the result that I really didn’t feel like doing my run this morning.

I woke up at 8am, which is late for me even at the weekend, and decided that, apart from my sinuses feeling rubbish, it was too late to go out. I could always start Week 6 tomorrow. No big deal as you are supposed to leave a day between runs on C25K – I just do two at the weekend because I prefer to run in the morning.

Anyway, I made myself some coffee and logged in to WordPress to see what everyone else was up to. As usual, I read a whole load of inspiring stories from people doing anything from C25K up to marathon training and I realised that I was being stupid. 

I ran for twenty minutes non-stop yesterday and all I had to do today was a couple of five minute runs with an eight minute run in the middle. Was I really going to let my sniffly sinuses get in the way of that? Of course not!

So, I grabbed my trainers and a huge wad of toilet roll (I didn’t have any tissues) and headed for the seafront just after 9:00 am. To be honest, the run wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. Perhaps it was the fear of my nose running faster than I was (which it didn’t) or the fact that having run twenty minutes non-stop yesterday I thought I had super human powers (which I clearly don’t) that made it tough. I’m not sure, but I did get through it and I feel so much better as a result.

Yes, I still have horrible itchy sinuses, but they feel better than they did when I first woke up this morning, so maybe it did me some good in that sense. The main thing though, is that I got my run in. And the thing that made me do it was reading other people’s blogs and comments. It really does make a huge difference.

I’m going to have nice hot Lemsip now and chill out for the rest of the day. So, thanks for your words of encouragement. Have a great weekend and feel free to leave a comment or a link to your blog.

Cheers!

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Sod The Sniffles”

  1. Leah Hallissey says :

    Good work going out when you’re not feeling well! I’m impressed!

    I thought the start of Week 6 was going to be a lot easier than it was as well. The end of Week 5 makes you a bit cocky, in a good way of course!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yup. I was definitely feeling a bit too cocky about today’s run. Still, it seems that a lot of this running malarkey is about staying positive, so still smiling. 🙂
      Hope you’ve had a great weekend.

  2. leanne402 says :

    Well done on getting that run in. Be aware also, that when you’re sick or just overcoming a bout of cold/illness you might have a tough, slow run, don’t be disheartened by it. Sickness happens and you can power though it.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Leanne. I’m really pathetic when I have cold so, apart from clearing my head for an hour or so afterwards, getting out there made me feel pretty good about myself… or maybe that’s the Lemsip talking. 😉

  3. artisticsharon says :

    Good for you getting out there when you don’t feel well…I’ve heard said that as long as you’re not running a fever it’s ok to exercise when sick. And with all those endorphins running through your system maybe that will kick the sickness out!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I was pretty pleased with myself for doing it. Unfortunately the endorphins are no match for this cold though, as I’ve now been in bed for two days and probably won’t make tomorrow’s run.
      On a positive note though, I will only be one run behind instead of two if it clears up by the weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

