Waiting For The Storm

I’ve been really enjoying the thought of running in a thunderstorm this week. After the last couple of weeks of record breaking temperatures in the South East of England, the weather forecast has been promising lots of lovely cool rain to lift the atmosphere again.

Unfortunately, we’ve not had any. At least, not while I’ve been awake. Still, the high temperatures are starting to ease off a bit so this evening’s run was much more comfortable than I thought it would be.

This evening was Week 5 Day 2 of C25K, which meant I had to run two eight minute segments with a five minute walk between them. I felt pretty confident about the eight minutes as I’d already run for eight minutes a couple of weeks ago when I accidentally set my app to the wrong day, but the entire run was so much easier than I thought it would be.

I don’t know if it was the cooler weather, or the fact that I’m getting better at pacing myself, or a combination of the two, but I absolutely loved this evening’s run. Don’t get me wrong, the first eight minutes of running wasn’t easy, and the arrival of the five minute walking segment came as a welcome relief, but after a just couple of minutes of walking, I really wanted to run again.

When I did start to run again, I couldn’t believe how good it felt. Instead of praying for the final minute with every step, or using my soundtrack as rough a guide to how much time I had left, I just focussed on my breathing and tried to keep a steady pace.

Then, when the signal came for the final minute, I pushed myself a little bit harder and tried to run a little bit faster. Nothing crazy. No sprint to the finish line or race to complete exhaustion. I just picked up my feet a little bit more to give myself a slightly longer stride, a bit of a push to see how it felt. And it felt good.

I know I can’t run for thirty minutes the way that I ran for that last sixty seconds (yet), but it was good to give myself that extra little push without overdoing it.

I’m still waiting for that lovely cool downpour of thundery rain, when I can splash through the puddles as I race to get home; but for now, I guess I’ll have to make do with a nice cold shower.

How do you cope with running in the heat? How does the cooler weather affect the way that you feel about your progress? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Waiting For The Storm”

  1. Dave says :

    I hate running in the heat. And we’ve had a lot of heat around here the past few weeks. Actually, it’s no so much the heat I hate, but the humidity. My Monday run was so nice because it was cloudy, breezy, and cool! I’m about to go for my W5D2 run in an hour or so, so I’m hoping it’ll be cooler and less humid again!

    • theblogrunner says :

      I’m useless in the heat so try to run in the morning at weekends and as late in the evening as possible mid week. Right now, clouds and breeze sounds like heaven! Hope you had a great run. 🙂

  2. kshearing says :

    Humidity is a killer here. I didn’t go run for a week because of the ridiculous heat wave and accompanying humidity spike. My way of dealing with it is hope that the heat breaks and take long cold showers!

    • theblogrunner says :

      It is starting to cool down a bit here, but it’s still quite humid. I definitely agree that humidity is worse than heat. Luckily for me, British summers don’t usually last much longer than a a couple of weeks though. 😉
      Hope the weather breaks for you soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

