Sidetracked

I seem to have become a little bit sidetracked as far as my C25K training is concerned. Usually, I run Saturday, Sunday and Wednesday, but last week and this week, things haven’t really gone according to plan.

Last Wednesday’s run was postponed until Thursday as I had noticed some pain in my shins that I thought might be shin splints. By Thursday, they felt fine though and I had a good run. I was surprised by how well I was coping with the three and five minute runs and managed to complete the run without any pains or niggles.

However, as I had family visiting this week, I guessed that I might not manage Week 5 quite so easily so decided to repeat Week 4. Saturday morning’s run was good, but after a busy day and late night out in London, I missed my run on Sunday morning. Then on Wednesday, even though I had booked a day off work, I didn’t get up early enough to go for a run and was busy doing things with my family for the rest of the day.

As a result, my whole schedule has pretty much gone to pot, but it was worth it. I got to spent time with my family, who I haven’t seen since October, and even though I wasn’t running, I certainly got plenty of exercise this week just by walking around and acting like a tourist with them.

So, I have decided that next week I’m going to repeat Week 4 and get back into my running routine. If things go according to plan, I should still be able to complete 5K by the end of August; and if they don’t, well, I can still run a lot further than I could a month ago.

For me, the most important thing is to enjoy the training. Sometimes life gets in the way of running, but it’s no big deal. As long as I get back out there and keep making progress, it’s all good.

How’s your training going? How do you juggle your time between running and other commitments? How do you get yourself back on track when injuries, work, family or life in general interrupt your running routine? Feel free to share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Sidetracked”

  1. toughmudderof4 says :

    With 4 kids it’s always a struggle to find the right work/family/exercise balance! I make sure that I actually schedule in my workouts into the family schedule, so along with swimming training, footy training, tutoring, my 1 hour time slot is there as well. Also, as much as I hate it, early early morning runs are the only time I get a lot of the time, while the babes are sleeping mum’s up and running, 10km down and home again as they’re waking up for breakfast. Sucky for me some days (and it’s been cold lately) but when else can I do it? Good on you for keeping on going – you’ll be there in no time mate!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

