Three Is The Magic Number

C25K. Week 3. Day 3. Run for 3 minutes.

I’ve been looking forward to this evening’s run ย since Sunday. Apart from the fact that it means I get to move on to Week 4 of C25K this weekend, being able to run for three minutes at a time actually feels like running.

I know three minutes doesn’t sound like much, but you can cover a decent amount of ground in that time. You can actually get somewhere faster than you would by walking. And that, for me, feels like running.

The run itself, however, seemed to go in a bit too quickly this evening. I still did the same twenty eight minutes that I did on Saturday and Sunday, and covered pretty much the same distance, but somehow the weekend runs felt much longer.

Perhaps this is because it gets easier by the third day. I’m not huffing and puffing quite as much by Wednesday; I’m not trying to figure out how many more seconds I have left before I can walk again; and by the end of the final run, I actually feel like I could go on and do at least one more.

One of the things that helps is having some music to listen to. During the first week, I just listened to the instructions on the app while I ran, but now I’ve realised that you can actually listen to music while the app is running.

The music helps for a couple of reasons: when I’m struggling, it helps me to focus on maintaining a pace; when I’m doing well, it takes my mind away from the mechanics of running; and when I’m nearing the end of the run, whatever song I’m listening to seems to spur me on through those final strides to the finish.

And by some strange coincidence, this is what I ended with tonight…

What do you listen to while you’re running? Do you have a favourite track or playlist? How does music affect you when you are running? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Three Is The Magic Number”

  1. pallsmortions says :

    Hey there. I just completed C25K and am a new born runner. Slow, but loving running for 35 minutes nonstop now and about to start to train for 10k. I had to comment as I must heartily recommend the NHS C25K podcasts. You can find them on the NHS site or on iTunes. I found them excellent, with music and very timely encouragement and tips on technique. Anyway, keep up the good work! It’s great isn’t it?

  2. Sam says :

    Congrats on reaching a new goal. Everyone is all at different levels and ultimately you are cpeting against yourself. Well done!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sam. I’m loving this journey and it’s great to know there are other people out there doing the same thing. Never thought I’d find such a supportive community by blogging, but here it is. Cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. toughmudderof4 says :

    Great effort! I started with this program and can now comfortably run 8km! Not super fast but I started being able to run only 300m before I thought I’d pass out haha! I love Eye of the Tiger to get me moving. I usually run with others so music is not an option then, I just zone out into my own little world… Keep moving!

  4. Julia says :

    My music playlist is made up of all my family members favorite songs since we share an iTunes account. That makes it fun, since one of my greatest motivators is my family. BUT…you’re not alone with the Eye of the Tiger ๐Ÿ˜‰ I blogged about it one time http://the23rdmile.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/winning/

    • theblogrunner says :

      I don’t share a playlist but I have a lot of compilation albums so usually get a few interesting surprises. That’s probably how I ended up with Eye of the Tiger. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

