Weekend Double

doubleIt’s Week 3, Day 2 of C25K already! It seems like only a couple of days ago that I was on Week 2. Ok, it was. But that’s the beauty of C25K. Even if the running itself is slow, the progress is fairly quick.

Two weeks ago, I struggled with running non stop for sixty seconds; now I can do three minutes. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but for me and most of the other people doing the program, this is a big deal.

Even when I was younger and fitter, I was never a distance runner. When it came to athletics, I was always about speed. I could run faster than most of my friends in the 100m, but when it came to anything above 400m I was always trailing behind. I was built for speed, not distance. But after years of studying, working and sitting on my backside all day, I realise that it’s not just about how you were built. It’s about what you choose to do with the body that you have.

This is one of the reasons that I’m doing C25K. It’s not exactly distance running, but it’s more distance than I have ever been able to do. And I will do it!

When I started this program, I decided to run twice at the weekend and once mid-week. They say that you should leave at least a day between runs to let your body recover, but I preferred the idea of running in the morning at the weekend, so I ignored that advice and decided to do two days in a row so that I would only have one evening run mid-week.

What I’ve found is that, while I tend to notice a bigger difference after a couple of rest days, I like the challenge of running two days in a row. When the first run of a new week is tough, it helps to get out again the next day because the lessons learned are still fresh in my mind.

If I start too fast on Saturday, I’ll remember to take it easier on the Sunday; if the Saturday is too slow and easy, I’ll pick up the pace a bit on the Sunday. These runs act as a practice for the Wednesday run, the final run of the week, where I can put my learning into practice and get myself ready to move on to the next stage.

The other thing I like about doing two runs at the weekend is that it means I’m half-way through the week already. I only have one more run to do before I get to move on to the next stage and, after a hard week at work, the thought of only having one run to go is a great motivator for me.

So, this weekend I did another double. I took it slow and easy to make sure I could keep going for the three minute intervals and found a pace that I am comfortable with. I would like to run a bit faster, but that will come. For now, I’m ignoring the teenage sprinter in me so that I can focus on going the distance. Two days in a row.

How often do you run? Do you like to run on consecutive days? Or do you prefer to have a rest day in between? Share your thoughts and ideas in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Weekend Double”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    I’m on Week 2, I run on Sat, Tues, Thurs and do strength training on the days in between (taking Sunday completely off). I find that giving myself a break between running helps me feel stronger the next time out. Good luck to you!

    • theblogrunner says :

      I don’t do anything other than walking in my in between days, but am seriously considering it as the runs get harder. A break in between definitely seems to make the next run easier though. 🙂

  2. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    First I just want to say THANK YOU for saying how long you run. For the longest time I was afraid to say I only went for a fifteen or a twenty minute run, thinking there were other runners out there saying, “Amateur!” We all do what we can, and I applaud you for getting out there.

    I’m fascinated by your running schedule, because it is very similar to mine. I used to run 3 to 5 times a week, sometimes morning, sometimes afternoon, depending on my heinous retail schedule. Now I work a Monday through Friday job (yay) and, well, took some time off running (boo). Two weekend days and one during the week is about what I can manage, although I always hope to add more in. Eventually.

    • theblogrunner says :

      As you say, we all do what we can. I sometimes catch myself looking at other runners and thinking, “man, I suck at this!” But then I remember that they all had to start somewhere too – and that’s something we’ve all got to be proud of, no matter how much or how little we run.

      With the schedule, I’d like to run more in the week too, but for now I want to get a routine that I will stick to. My job is also pretty tiring at the moment, so two rest days either side of my mid-week run makes it manageable.

      Still, it’s very early days. Thanks for the encouragement. It’s good to know we’re not alone in this. Hope you had a good run today. 🙂

  3. Dave says :

    I ran for the second day in a row for the first time today. It wasn’t a pleasant experience! It was probably the toughest run I’ve had since my first session! At least at this stage for me (starting Week 2), I’m going to try to avoid any more doubles if I can haha. Kudos to you for being able to run two days in a row!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Dave. I don’t know how long I’ll be able to keep up the two days in a row as the runs are getting harder. I guess a big part of this program is finding a routine that works for you. I’m still on the early stages, so we’ll see what happens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

