First Evening Run

hove seafront runningI completed my first evening run and my first week of C25K today.

To be honest, I was a bit worried about having to run mid week. I wasn’t keen on running before work as I kind of like my morning routine on work days; but I wasn’t sure if I would have the energy to run after a busy day at the office.

My main problem with running in the evening was that I’m usually hungry after my walk home so I have something to eat as soon as I get in. There was no way I would be able to run hungry, but I knew that running on a full stomach wouldn’t be a good idea either.

In the end, I decided that the best way round this was to have a snack in the afternoon. I also made sure that I cut down my caffeine intake and stuck to drinking boiled water instead of tea or coffee. This seemed to work really well as I didn’t feel hungry or tired when I got home.

As it was a pretty warm muggy day, I decided to do my run along the seafront. I felt a bit self conscious at first but there were plenty of runners and joggers around so I soon forgot about everyone else and just focussed on my run.

My last run had been on Sunday so I was a bit worried about how I would get on. As I had feared, the first 60 seconds of running weren’t great, but this was probably because I was feeling a bit tense. So I reminded myself to relax, keep my head up and just breathe. It worked a treat!

I soon got into my rhythm, taking it slow and steady on the runs and keeping a strong but relaxed pace on the walks. Strangely enough, the runs seemed shorter than before while the walking seemed to go on for too ย long by the end. In fact, for the first time this week, I was a little bit disappointed when the session was over.

Part of me wanted to do just one more repetition, but I knew it would be silly to over do it. So, I headed home with a grin on my face, looking forward to stepping things up a gear next week.

What’s your favourite time of day to run? How do you adapt your running schedule to fit in with other aspects of your life? Share your thoughts and stories in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “First Evening Run”

  1. Chuck says :

    I’m a late afternoon, early evening runner. Sometimes, I’ve even found myself running after dark. One of my routes is well lit at night, so it makes it pretty easy. An early morning run for me would be 10:00 a.m. LOL

  2. northwoodsmamma says :

    Great job! Way to plan ahead to avoid the “post work-out snack fest” too. We can do it!!

  3. Mark Eichenlaub says :

    Good job!
    I’ve been coaching for over a decade and have helped a number of people through c25k programs. PLEASE feel free to email me at coach@teachtorun.com, leave me a comment at TeachtoRun.com if you have any issues come up that you think I might be able to assist with.
    I went through most of what you might face that is troublesome and I’d hate to think you are wasting time on issues like motivation or injuries that are easily fixable.

  4. chem25k says :

    Well done! I’m not sure I class myself as a morning runner (or a morning person in general) but for the vast majority of my runs to date, I’ve left the house at 6:20am. It’s cooler, there are fewer people around, and I’m usually too tired after work.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you! I’m with you on the morning runs. Running after work was good, but I did feel more self conscious and it did take more effort to get out the door. I’m definitely looking forward to running early again this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

