Just Go Run

motivationI wasn’t feeling quite as motivated this morning as I was yesterday, but that’s going to happen right?

Still, I knew that if I didn’t do it today, it would be harder later in the week as I prefer to run when there’s no one else around. It’s just a confidence thing, I know, and I’m sure that will pass as the running improves over the next few weeks, but for now I’d rather not be seen by too many people.Β This will be more difficult mid week as I will probably have to train in the evenings, so getting two runs in at the weekend is important.

So, just before 7:30am, I got my act together, donned my running gear and headed on out to another cool dry morning in central Hove.

It was still a bit windy, so I decided to avoid the beach and run along one of the main roads. As with yesterday, there weren’t many people around, although I did see a couple of joggers, runners and a group of cyclists who looked like they were training for something. It made me feel a bit less self conscious to know that most of the people out and about at that time were doing the same as I was.

The session itself was pretty good and for some reason I enjoyed the second half of it more than the first. Perhaps it had something to do with the fact that I was running along a straight road and then turning back, or maybe I just got into my stride a bit more. I don’t know. But it felt good. Challenging, tiring and uncomfortable at times, but good.

I plan to have a break for the next couple of days and do Day 3 on Wednesday. Hopefully I’ll still be feeling motivated by then.

Have a great week!

At what time of day do you prefer to run? How do you get yourself motivated when you’re feeling tired? Share your thoughts and tips in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Just Go Run”

  1. thekelsterrr says :

    Even the most serious runners have more motivation some days than others. Just keep reminding yourself how great you’ll feel when you’re done…and when you’ve completed that first 5k! Congrats on getting started!

  2. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout says :

    I too find my motivation fluctuates greatly – and weirdly enough, when I’m feeling it the least sometimes the run is way better than when I’m really psyched to go! In terms of tiredness, it’s a difficult one as firstly I need to distinguish if I’m feeling lazy or feeling tired (I think I’m getting better at this!) and then if I really am feeling tired, I decide if I have the time e.g. to have a short nap beforehand, or if I’m ok to down a cup of coffee but not to put time predictions on the run (if I only want to go for 5 minutes then that’s ok too πŸ™‚ ) Good luck with the rest of your training! I used to love it when I used to live in Brighton and run by the sea front πŸ™‚

  3. Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits) says :

    I have ran 5 half marathons, but still always come back to the c25k program to start over again to get my body going after those longer races… its a great program. Cheering you onto your first 5k!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Rebecca. It’s still very early days for me but I’m looking forward to being able to do what you and other who have commented are doing. Cheers for the cheers! πŸ™‚

  4. Leah Hallissey says :

    I prefer running earlier in the morning. I find it easier to be motivated then as well so I don’t have as much time to find an excuse!

    Good luck with your C25K training! I’m on Week 5 now and my one piece of advice would be not to worry about whether you’ll be able to do the next run. Half the battle is in your head!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Leah. I think mornings are best for me, although mid week it may have to be evenings. I plan to run after work this evening so we’ll see how it goes.

      I had a look ahead to some of the later weeks and it did scare me a little bit, but I’ll take your advice and not worry about it. I never thought I would even put my trainers on until I started. πŸ˜‰

  5. Andrew Williams says :

    For me, I much prefer evening runs. I just finished C25K at the beginning of this week and I still prefer to avoid crowds.

    It’s a small world – I used to live in Brighton many years ago, and here you are just down the road from there…

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

