First Run

morning_runI was so excited about doing my first C25K run this morning that I could hardly sleep. Seriously. I had to get up twice to pee and by 5:15 I was wide awake and ready to run… well, perhaps not quite ready to run. I was hungry and wanted some breakfast, which is unusual for me.

Anyway, I was too hungry to run so I decided to have something to eat. Apparently you’re not supposed to run right after eating. But that was fine because it was early. I could still be out and running before the proper runners were out and about.

I went out just before 7am and headed for the beach. It’s only five minutes away, so walking down there would be my warm up. It was a bit chilly and I could feel the cold air on my feet – I guess running shoes are supposed to do that – but on the whole it was a pretty nice morning for running.

As I headed for the sea, I had visions of myself sprinting along the promenade, with the sun on my skin, the breeze in my hair and the air beneath my feet. I would feel strong and powerful and free.

Unfortunately, as soon as I hit the seafront, the cool breeze turned into what seemed like a gale. I could barely even walk upright, never mind run, with the wind pounding my lungs as it tried to rip my cap from my head.

Luckily, there are some decent pavements around here, so I headed back up to the road to get some shelter from the wind and soon got into my stride.

On the whole, the run was pretty good. It wasn’t easy for someone like me who won’t even run to catch a bus never mind to get fit, but the fact that there was more walking than running at this stage made it bearable.

The best part though was probably the cool down. It felt good to have taken those first steps and, even with only a few minutes of actual running, the endorphins definitely made me feel good.

It’s early days, I know, but I could definitely get into this!

Are you doing C25K? How was your first run? Share your stories in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “First Run”

  1. hemingwayrun says :

    Well done! First step is the hardest and all that!
    I started on a similar plan this time last year, and in April I finished a marathon.
    Keep up! 😉

  2. kwienches says :

    Where are you training that you have a beach as an option?

    • theblogrunner says :

      I’m in Hove, in the South East of England. I doubt I’ll be running on the beach itself as it has stones rather than sand, but the promenade on the seafront is very popular with runners and joggers. 🙂

  3. Chuck says :

    Congrats on your first run and welcome to running! Hopefully, you’ll learn to love it and stick with it. Good luck

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

